Free Case Evaluation
craft law firm founders

Texas Right-of-Way Laws

Posted on October 30, 2022

Motorists in Texas are required to follow right-of-way laws to keep themselves and others on the road safe. Right-of-way simply means you have the right to proceed before another vehicle. However, failing to observe these laws often results in severe car accidents and penalties. 

Right-of-Way Laws at Intersections

  • Motor vehicles driving down unpaved roads must yield the right-of-way when they come across an intersection with a paved road. 
  • At an uncontrolled intersection, ones that don’t have a traffic control signal or stop/yield signs, you must yield to those who are already at the intersection and proceed cautiously. 
  • For left-hand turns at an intersection, you must give the right-of-way to pedestrians crossing the street, as well as vehicles traveling in the opposite lane. For right turns, you must also yield to any pedestrian and cars entering the lane you are turning into. 
  • When traveling down a private road, lane, or alley that opens up to an intersection, you must give the right-of-way to any oncoming traffic. 
  • At railroad crossings, you must stop at the indicated area to give trains the right-of-way. Stopping too close to the tracks can cause devastating consequences if an accident occurs and you are struck by a moving train. 

Right-of-Way Laws and Pedestrians

  • Drivers must yield the right-of-way to pedestrians, even if they cross the road illegally, such as failing to use a marked crosswalk. 
  • Pedestrians are required to yield to vehicles that have a green light at an intersection. 
  • Pedestrians who are blind always have the right of way.  

However, Texas drivers must always be extra cautious and give pedestrians the right-of-way to avoid causing severe injuries or fatalities. 

Right-of-Way Laws and Emergency Vehicles 

Emergency vehicles, such as ambulances, fire trucks, police vehicles, etc., that have their sirens and flashing lights on have the right-of-way. Motorists must move aside or pull over to let these vehicles pass. If you are in an intersection at the time, go through it, then pull over to the side of the road. 

Penalties for Failing to Yield the Right of Way in Texas

Drivers who fail to comply with right-of-way laws in Texas can be subject to a fine between $50 to $200 and two points on their license. If a violation of a right-of-way law leads to an injury, the driver may receive three points on their license and a fine of up to $2,000. A larger fine of up to $4,000 can be issued if someone is severely injured. 

Do You Need Help with a Right-of-Way Car Accident Claim?

There are numerous examples of car accidents occurring because one driver violated another’s right of way. For example, crashes often occur when one driver has a stop sign, but another does not, and the driver who has a stop sign runs through it. Although you should do everything you can to avoid a right-of-way collision, it can be unavoidable. If another party is responsible, you have the right to recover compensation. Contact Craft Law Firm to arrange a free consultation today.